Monday, November 19, 2012


Dear All, 
Please visit the following site and apply immediately.   last date for submitting your project had been extended upto 30.11.12.

    For your reference,  Mentioned below are the award categories for the same:
 I.                    Excellence in teaching: There would be 12 Awards under this category – six for private/public schools and six for government schools – one each under following subjects:

a)      Languages: Excellence in teaching Indian languages would be recognised under this category (teachers of all official Indian languages are eligible to apply).

b)       Art: Excellence in imparting knowledge of various Indian Art forms would be recognised under this category – this includes Art, Craft, Dance, Music and Theater.

c)       Sports: Excellence in developing Physical Education activities and exemplary coaching of Sports would be recognized  under this category.

d)      Mathematics: Excellence in teaching Mathematics through innovative and interesting methods would be recognized under this category.

e)      Science: Excellence in teaching Science (including Physics, Chemistry and Biology) with high levels of engagement and practical demonstration would be recognized under this category.

f)       Social Studies: Excellence in teaching Social Studies (including Geography, History and Civics) through engaging activities and learning models would be recognized under this category.

Those teaching multiple subjects, may submit separate nominations for different subjects. However, we shall recommend such teachers to choose ONE subject where the impact is maximum with good documentation and samples.

II.                  Best pre-primary teacher

There would be two Awards under this category – one for private/public schools and one for government schools. This award identifies creative teachers at the pre-primary level who engage the youngest category of children with sensitivity, playfulness and creativity.

III.                Outstanding contribution to special children

a.       This award identifies passionate teachers who strive to connect to children with special needs and elicit their participation and creative potential. These children may have one or more types of physical disability, autism, cerebral palsy, epilepsy or any other type of developmental or learning delay.

IV.                Special teacher (differently-abled)

a.       This award identifies extraordinary teachers who themselves are special and despite their different ability they have done a commendable job as a teacher.

V.                  Innovation in school teaching

a.       This award identifies teachers who have devised or implemented innovative methods, techniques or tools to deliver subjects in highly participatory, interactive and exciting ways.

VI.                Outstanding performance in social contribution through teaching – NGO / Social cause

a.       This award recognizes the contribution of teachers who are associated with NGOs, social bodies and teach in different schools, through those NGOs.

VII.              Teacher of the Year (1 male / 1 female)

Jury would select one male and one female award recipient for this category after screening applications for all other categories.

From: Pearson Awards [] On Behalf Of Pearson Awards
Sent: Saturday, November 3, 2012 2:15 PM
Subject: Calling Extraordinary Teachers in India to APPLY FOR Pearson Teaching Awards 2012

We are pleased to share about Pearson Teaching Awards for Excellence in School Teaching.
Kindly help us connect with extraordinary teachers who have demonstrated excellence in teaching different subjects, shown outstanding contribution to children with special needs and have served their communities through teaching even outside formal classrooms.
Pearson, NDTV and Digital Empowerment Foundation have initiated this most prestigious award and the first of its kind in India to recognize excellent teachers from all over India and highlight their contribution in nation building and helping make a better society through inspirational teaching.
The eligible entities include:
  • Pre-Primary, Primary, Secondary & Senior Secondary School Teachers
  • Schools Teachers at NGOs, including Non-Formal Schools
  • Corporate & Private School Teachers
  • Government School Teachers
Overall there are 20 award categories as listed at:
Please see all rules and regulation:
Teachers may apply online here:
Pearson Teaching Awards 2012
C/o Digital Empowerment Foundation
House No. # 44, 3rd Floor, Kalu Sarai
Near IIT Delhi, New Delhi – 110 016, INDIA +91-9910572812, +91-9910572052

No comments:

Post a Comment